Home » 2024 Young Guns squad announced

2024 Young Guns squad announced

2024 Young Guns squad announced

VICTORIAN mid-season draft hopefuls will have a chance to impress over the next fortnight as the annual Young Guns series gets underway on Saturday. A 24-player squad to take on Vic Metro and Vic Country has been announced, featuring 23 players eligible for the intake.

>> SCROLL to see the full squad

AFL recruiters lodged nominations to help select the side along with input from VFL and Coates Talent League clubs. All players in the squad are 2005-born and meet the requirements to be selected for the AFL Mid-Season Rookie Draft – barring Hawthorn father-son candidate Ned Maginness.

Vic Metro is the opponent for the first of two games, bouncing down at 4:20pm at Avalon Airport Oval on April 20. The Young Guns then lock horns with Vic Country on Saturday April 28 at Windy Hill, starting at 11:00am. Both games also serve as further trials for the Victorian Under 18 representative squads.

Fringe prospects and non-APS aligned talent will take the field for Metro and Country in hopes of donning the Big V during this year’s National Championships. The Metro squad has been announced, while Country’s will come next week ahead of their own fixture.

Both games will be available to watch via live stream on the AFL website.


1 Thomas Hanily 178 Gippsland Power (CTL)
2 Tobyn Murray 180 Geelong Cats (VFL)
3 Tarkyn O’Leary 178 Sandringham (VFL)
4 Oskar Smartt 180 Essendon (VFL)
5 Oliver Poole 183 Bendigo Pioneers (CTL)
6 Ryan Brodie 182 Calder Cannons (CTL)
7 Liam Kershaw 185 Geelong Falcons (CTL)
8 Dayton Uerata 184 Bendigo Pioneers (CTL)
9 Cooper Lord 184 Sandringham Dragons (CTL)
10 Ben Hopkins 190 Dandenong Stingrays (CTL)
11 Geordie Payne 184 Tasmania Devils (CTL)
12 Kade De La Rue 183 North Melbourne (VFL)
13 Ry Cantwell 187 Eastern Ranges (CTL)
14 Will McLachlan 181 Geelong Falcons (CTL)
15 Kobe Shipp 188 Casey Demons (VFL)
16 Lachie McArthur 190 Western Jets (CTL)
17 Ryan Eyre 191 Calder Cannons (CTL)
18 Cooper Trembath 193 Eastern Ranges (CTL)
19 Riak Andrew 192 Dandenong Stingrays (CTL)
20 Ned Maginness 194 Sandringham Dragons (CTL)
21 Remy Maclean 196 Eastern Ranges (CTL)
22 Max Mapley 199 Tasmania Devils (CTL)
23 Iliro Smit 200 Eastern Ranges (CTL)
24 Joe Pike 203 Geelong Falcons (CTL)


1 Massimo Raso 171 Western Jets
2 Lachy Dovaston 175 Eastern Ranges
3 Jayden Nguyen 177 Calder Cannons
4 Luke Quaynor 178 Oakleigh Chargers
5 Weston Barker 176 Western Jets
6 Jak Ryan 176 Eastern Ranges
7 Damon Hollow 180 Calder Cannons
8 Lucas McInerney 180 Northern Knights
9 Cody Anderson 180 Eastern Ranges
10 Nash King 181 Calder Cannons
11 Luke Kennedy 181 Sandringham Dragons
12 Lucca Grego 184 Western Jets
14 Thomas Wenzel 184 Oakleigh Chargers
15 Liam Farrar 188 Northern Knights
16 Xavier Kardachi 185 Western Jets
17 Keighton Matofai-Forbes 185 Western Jets
18 Seth Macdonald 188 Eastern Ranges
19 Gabriel Stumpf 194 Northern Knights
20 Riley White 194 Eastern Ranges
26 Louis Emmett 200 Oakleigh Chargers
27 Adrian Cole 197 Sandringham Dragons
28 Lucas Impey 199 Western Jets
29 Lucas Tovey 198 Oakleigh Chargers
30 Thomas Sims 199 Northern Knights