Home » ASC welcomes new Chair

ASC welcomes new Chair

ASC CEO Kieren Perkins OAM has welcomed the appointment.

“Kate is one of Australia’s most distinguished leaders and her record of making systemic change across a range of sectors speaks for itself,” Mr Perkins said.

“There is no doubt that Kate’s expertise will be a wonderful asset to the ASC and our whole sector as we strive to ensure sport has a place for everyone and delivers results that make Australia proud.”

Ms Jenkins is one of three new faces joining the Commission after Minister for Sport, Anika Wells also announced appointments of Dr Bridie Kean PLY and Nicholas Green OAM as new board members.

Dr Kean is a dual Paralympic medallist and lecturer at the University of the Sunshine Coast.

Dr Kean served as the Paralympic athlete representative during the Brisbane 2032 bid process and was recently appointed Deputy Chef de Mission of the 2024 Australian Paralympic Team.

Mr Green is a dual Olympic gold medallist and senior executive with experience working in large global corporations, the public sector, and not-for-profit organisations.

Mr Green has held sport roles as Chief Executive Officer of Cycling Australia, Director of the Australian Olympic Committee and Commonwealth Games Australia, President of the Victorian Olympic Council, and Chef de Mission of the 2012 Australian Olympic Team.

The trio join an accomplished Board of Commissioners with a range of expertise, including:

  • Andrew Ireland (Deputy Chair)
  • Amanda Laing
  • Kurt Fearnley AO
  • Lynne Anderson
  • Craig Redman
  • Dixie Marshall
  • Blair Comley PSM

Ms Jenkins replaces Josephine Sukkar AM who concluded her three-year term as ASC Chair earlier this week.

“I’d like to take this opportunity to thank Josephine Sukkar for the incredible legacy she leaves on sport through her role as ASC Chair,” Mr Perkins said.

“Australian sport is better for having your passionate advocacy in recent years.”