Home » Australian players in IPL 2024: Which Aussies are competing in Indian Premier League cricket season | Sporting News Australia

Australian players in IPL 2024: Which Aussies are competing in Indian Premier League cricket season | Sporting News Australia

The IPL kicks off its 17th season on March 23 as many of the world’s best short-form players descend on India for two months of top class T20 action.

As always, plenty of Aussies have put their hands up for a taste of the prestige and riches on offer in the Indian Premier League.

A total of 17 Australians earned IPL contracts for 2024, although a maximum of 16 will take the field after Jason Behrendorff (Mumbai Indians) withdrew following a freak training mishap which left him with a broken leg.

MORE: All 10 IPL squads for 2024

Here’s the full list of Australians in the IPL 2024:

Australians in IPL 2024

  • Pat Cummins (Sunrisers Hyderabad)
  • Tim David (Mumbai Indians)
  • Nathan Ellis (Punjab Kings)
  • Jake Fraser-McGurk (Delhi Capitals)
  • Cameron Green (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
  • Travis Head (Sunrisers Hyderabad)
  • Spencer Johnson (Gujarat Titans)
  • Mitchell Marsh (Delhi Capitals)
  • Glenn Maxwell (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
  • Jhye Richardson (Delhi Capitals)
  • Mitchell Starc (Kolkata Knight Riders)
  • Marcus Stoinis (Lucknow Super Giants)
  • Ashton Turner (Lucknow Super Giants)
  • Matthew Wade (Gujarat Titans)
  • David Warner (Delhi Capitals)
  • Adam Zampa (Rajasthan Royals)

Australians in the IPL 2024 auction

In the IPL auction ahead of this season’s campaign, 13 Aussies were purchased.

Fast bowler Mitchell Starc fetched the highest-ever fee in the history of the competition, going for a whopping 24.75 crore (AU$4.43 million).

Earlier in the same auction, Pat Cummins had been sold for a then-record 20.5 crore (AU$3.67 million)

See below for the full list of Australian players sold in the 2024 IPL auction.

  • Mitchell Starc ($4.43 million)
  • Pat Cummins ($3.67 million)
  • Cameron Green ($3.15 million)
  • Glenn Maxwell ($2 million)
  • Spencer Johnson ($1.78 million)
  • Marcus Stoinis ($1.7 million)
  • Tim David ($1.53 million)
  • Travis Head ($1.2 million)
  • Mitch Marsh ($1.2 million)
  • Jhye Richardson ($890,000)
  • Ashton Turner ($178,000)
  • Nathan Ellis ($135,000)
  • Jake Fraser-McGurk ($92,000)

MORE: Top 10 most expensive players in IPL history

How to watch IPL 2024 in Australia: TV channel, live stream

As one of the most-watched cricket competitions in the world, there’s no shortage of TV coverage for the IPL in 2024.

Foxtel has has exclusive rights the IPL for fans in Australia.

Every match of the 2024 IPL season will be available live on Fox Sports, as well as streaming service Kayo.

How to Watch Australia
TV Fox Sports
Live Stream Kayo

When does IPL 2024 start and finish?

The 2024 IPL gets underway on Friday, March 22 at 8:00 p.m. local time (IST), as defending champions the Chennai Super Kings face Royal Challengers Bangalore at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, India.

The new season will run for just over two months, culminating with the final match on Sunday, May 26. In last year’s decider, Chennai defeated Gujarat Titans by five wickets to claim their fifth title, and the Super Kings will be looking to become the first franchise in IPL history to win back-to-back titles twice.