Home » How many laps are in the Australian Grand Prix? Full race breakdown for Melbourne F1 event | Sporting News Australia

How many laps are in the Australian Grand Prix? Full race breakdown for Melbourne F1 event | Sporting News Australia

After several months of man-hours and preparation, Albert Park has been transformed again to host the Australian F1 Grand Prix.

The street circuit has undergone several changes in recent years, and it promises to be a fast-paced track for the 2024 race.

The Sporting News takes you through the key details ahead of the event.

MORE: Daniel Ricciardo’s record at the Australian Grand Prix

How many laps are in the Australian F1 Grand Prix?

This year, the Australian F1 Grand Prix will again take place over 58 laps.

Each lap is 5.278 km, meaning the entire race distance is 306.124 km.

The FIA – the sport’s governing body – determines the length of a lap by measuring the inside and outside of the track and dividing that sum. 

Australian F1 Grand Prix fastest lap record

Red Bull driver Sergio Perez currently holds the official race lap record at Albert Park, setting a time of 1:20.235 at the 2023 Grand Prix.

He was aided by the introduction of a fourth DRS (drag reduction system) zone for that year’s race, where lap times were faster than usual.

The extra zone was been added at Turns 8 and 9, meaning that Albert Park became the only track on the F1 circuit to have more than three activation zones.

How many corners does the Albert Park F1 Circuit have?

There will be 14 turns at this year’s Melbourne Grand Prix.

The first corner is a right-hand turn – a tight bend that challenges drivers immediately following the race start.

Five interesting facts about the Australian F1 Grand Prix

  • Since its first running back in 1928, 23 different venues have been used to host the Australian Grand Prix.
  • Due to its location in Albert Park – a local Melbourne park – it takes around 290,000 man-hours every year to erect the track and surroundings.
  • The 2007 Australian Grand Prix was the only time, other than the first F1 race, where every driver on the podium was making their maiden appearance for their team. Kimi Raikkonen won on his Ferrari debut with Fernando Alonso and Lewis Hamilton both finishing in the top three for McLaren.
  • No Australian has ever won a home Grand Prix.
  • The lowest starting position from which a driver has won the Australian GP is 11th,  achieved by both David Coulthard in 2003 and Eddie Irvine in 1999.

Australian F1 Grand Prix: Past winners

Below you can find a list of the previous 20 race winners, divided by driver and constructor. The Australian Grand Prix was first held all the way back in 1928 before it first appeared on the official F1 calendar in 1985.

Ferrari have won this race the most times of any constructor with 13 victories, while Michael Schumacher holds the most race wins of any driver during the F1 era with four. 

Year Winning Driver Winning Constructor
2001 Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2002 Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2003 David Coulthard McLaren
2004 Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2005 Giancarlo Fisichella Renault
2006 Fernando Alonso Renault
2007 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari
2008 Lewis Hamilton McLaren
2009 Jenson Button Brawn-Mercedes
2010 Jenson Button McLaren
2011 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
2012 Jenson Button McLaren
2013 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari
2014 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
2015 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2016 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
2017 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari
2018 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari
2019 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes
2020 Not held due to COVID-19
2021 Not held due to COVID-19
2022 Charles Leclerc Ferrari
2023 Max Verstappen Red Bull