Home » NBL superstar enters Australian hoops GOAT conversation with another MVP crown

NBL superstar enters Australian hoops GOAT conversation with another MVP crown

Bryce Cotton has entered the NBL GOAT conversation, winning a fourth league MVP award – trailing only the legendary Andrew Gaze, who the award is named for.

The 31-year-old Perth star led the Wildcats to a second-place finish behind Melbourne United, and won the award from their star Chris Goulding plus New Zealand import Parker Jackson-Cartwright.

After a difficult start to the year Cotton lifted enormously, producing 26.6 points per game as part of a 15-game streak where the Wildcats won 13 times.

Watch every game of the NBL season LIVE with ESPN on Kayo Sports. New to Kayo? Start Your Free Trial Today >

While Goulding missed the top honour Melbourne was still dominant on the awards night, with coach Dean Vickerman named the NBL’s best for a third time, Shea Ili the Defensive Player of the Year and Ian Clark the Best Sixth Man.

Potential No.1 pick Alex Sarr missed the Next Gen award for the best player under 25, with Illawarra’s Sam Froling beating him and Luke Travers.

Hawks cement NBL playoff spot | 01:14

Andrew Gaze MVP: Bryce Cotton (Perth Wildcats)

Lindsay Gaze Coach of the Year: Dean Vickerman (Melbourne United)

Most Improved Player: Sean Macdonald (Tasmania JackJumpers)

Best Sixth Man: Ian Clark (Melbourne United)

Damian Martin of the Defensive Player of the Year: Shea Ili (Melbourne United)

Next Generation: Sam Froling (Illawarra)

NBL First Team: Anthony Lamb (New Zealand Breakers), Bryce Cotton (Perth Wildcats),

Chris Goulding (Melbourne United), Gary Clark (Illawarra Hawks), Parker Jackson-Cartwright (New Zealand Breakers)

NBL Second Team: Jack McVeigh (Tasmania JackJumpers), Jo Lual Acuil Jr (Melbourne United), Milton Doyle (Tasmania JackJumpers), Mitch Creek (South East Melbourne Phoenix), Nathan Sobey (Brisbane Bullets)

Referee of the Year: Vaughan Mayberry

Gametime by Kmart: Sunday Dech (Adelaide 36ers)

Executive of the Year: Nick Truelson (Melbourne United)

Fans MVP: Bryce Cotton (Perth Wildcats)