Home » South Australia locks in 2024 AFLW U18s squad

South Australia locks in 2024 AFLW U18s squad

REIGNING back-to-back champion South Australia has locked in its 2024 AFL Women’s Under 18 Championships squad. Trimming down to 30 players, the Croweaters have only included top and bottom-agers this year, with no Under 16s players as in previous seasons.

The 30-player squad is highlighted by AFL Women’s Academy members India Rasheed, Poppy Scholz and Central District’s trio of Charlotte Riggs, Jasmine Evans and Georgia McKee.

West Adelaide’s Lucy Boyd and Ruby Ballard North Adelaide’s Laela Ebert, Glenelg’s Violet Patterson, Norwood’s Coby Morgan, South Adelaide’s Esther Schirmer and Eagles’ Grace Martin are other top-agers with experience from last year’s Under 18s program. Bottom-agers Sophie Eaton and Monique Bessen were included in last year’s squad as under 16 additions, with the former playing two games, while the latter was an emergency.

Amon the top-age inclusions this year are Emma Daley, an ex-Bendigo Pioneers player who moved to South Australia and has been playing in defence for Norwood, as well as West Adelaide duo Emma Kilpatrick and Asha Dufour who were in the extended squad in 2023, but missed the final cut.

There are several family ties in the group, with Patterson the most known for Collingwood fans. The daughter of Stephen is eligible as a father-daughter selection this year. Scholz is the younger sister of Port Adelaide’s Matilda, Ballard is the younger sister of Adelaide’s Ruby, and Ebert’s father Daniel played 100 games with North Adelaide.

Central District’s Mikaylah Antony was a late inclusion to the squad following some great form this season and injuries to a number of existing players, while speaking of injuries, McKee and Shae Archbold return after missing last year due to anterior cruciate ligament (ACL) injuries.

From a teams perspective, the Bulldogs and Bloods have the most representatives with five, followed by Glenelg, Sturt and Woodville-West Torrens with four. Norwood and South Adelaide have three, while the Roosters have two.

Among those missing the national championships due to injury are reigning All-Australian Jemma Charity (knee), Jayde Visser (foot) and Steph Tredwell (osteitis pubis).

2024 South Australian Under 18 Girls Squad

Name Clubs
Charlotte Riggs Central District
Sophie Eaton Central District
Georgia McKee Central District
Jasmine Evans Central District
Mikaylah Antony Central District
Eloise Mackereth Glenelg
Poppy Scholz Glenelg
Violet Patterson Glenelg
Matilda Wilmore Glenelg
Laela Ebert North Adelaide
Sarcha Taylor North Adelaide
Coby Morgan Norwood
Emma Daley Norwood
Charli Hazelhurst Norwood
Lily Baxter South Adelaide
Shae Archbold South Adelaide
Esther Schirmer South Adelaide
Winnie Thornquest Sturt
Sophie Thredgold Sturt
Monique Bessen Sturt
India Rasheed Sturt
Lucy Boyd West Adelaide
Emma Kilpatrick West Adelaide
Ruby Ballard West Adelaide
Chloe Tonkin West Adelaide
Asha Dufour West Adelaide
Imogen Trengove Woodville-West Torrens
Bianca Portaro Woodville-West Torrens
Grace Martin Woodville-West Torrens
Klaudia O’Neill Woodville-West Torrens