Home » Rules Review: I took a drop the old way from shoulder height. Is that a penalty now? – Australian Golf Digest

Rules Review: I took a drop the old way from shoulder height. Is that a penalty now? – Australian Golf Digest

[PHOTO: Christian Iooss]

Golfers do lot of things on the golf course without giving them much thought, usually habits picked up over time. Banging the bottom of your shoes when you leave a bunker; celebrating prematurely before a putt falls; stepping over someone’s putting line in such an exaggerated way (to let it be known you’re doing the right thing) that it looks like you’re wearing clown shoes.

But what happens when that old habit now runs counter to the Rules of Golf? For example, say you forgot that in 2019 the R&A and USGA laid out a new procedure regarding how to take a drop in relief area, and your mistakenly failed to drop a ball from the new “knee height” requirement (Rule 14.3b(2))? Maybe you were daydreaming, and simply did it the old way from shoulder height. Old habits die hard.

Does that matter? Well, yes. And if you don’t correct yourself, you could get hit with a penalty.

Golf’s 10 most misunderstood rules

To refresh your memory, since the Rules of Golf were modernised in 2019, you now must drop your ball when taking relief from “knee height” when in a standing position. Don’t confuse that, however, with meaning you have to be standing to drop. You could bend over or kneel and make a legal drop provided the height the ball is being dropped from is the same as if the player was standing and let it go next to his/her knee. Also, remember that the ball can’t touch any part of your body when it’s dropped and you can’t do anything to influence its motion beyond releasing it. No spinning, flicking, tossing… you get the idea.

OK… so what happens if you forget to drop from knee height? The good news is that as long as you catch yourself before you go on to play your next stroke, you can correct the mistake without penalty. Here’s what it says in Rules (14.3b(4)):

What to do if Ball Dropped in Wrong Way.

If a ball is dropped in a wrong way in breach of one or more of the requirements in (1), (2) or (3):

  • The player must drop a ball again in the right way, and there is no limit to the number of times the player must do so.
  • A ball dropped in the wrong way does not count as one of the two drops required before a ball must be placed under Rule 14.3c(2).

This happened earlier in the year on the PGA Tour when rookie Sami Valimaki was in contention at the Mexico Open. On the 18th hole during the final round, his drive went way right and came to rest against a fence. While not out-of-bounds, Valimaki did have to take an unplayable lie.

Rough break.

The Finnish tour pro went ahead and measured out a relief area and proceeded to take a drop. But when he dropped his ball he mistakenly did so from shoulder height. Watching over this at the time was a PGA Tour rules official, who then explained to him his mistake and how to correct it. As it turned out, he got a much better lie when taking his “correct” drop.

So what happens if you don’t catch yourself and you go and play your next stroke? Well, there are consequences. Here’s what the Rules say in this instance:

If the player does not drop again and instead makes a stroke at the ball from where it came to rest after being dropped in a wrong way:

  • If the ball was played from the relief area, the player gets one penalty stroke (but has not played from a wrong place under Rule 14.7a).
  • But if the ball was played from outside the relief area, or after it was placed when required to be dropped (no matter where it was played from), the player gets the general penalty.

Back to Valimaki. After fixing his mistake, he wound up finishing in outright second, which meant cashing a $US882,900 cheque compared to what might have happened if he didn’t fix things in real time. And the 300 FedEx Cup points he earned has him comfortably on his way to keeping his PGA Tour card and in contention for the FedEx Cup Playoffs.


My ball is just outside a ‘no-play zone’. Can I stand in it to hit my shot?

How can I possibly know ‘exactly’ where my ball crossed into a penalty area?

I know I saw his golf ball move when he removed that pine straw. Why wasn’t he penalised?

How you can drop your ball in the fairway after hitting it OB (and it’s perfectly legal)

Can you pass our 10-question rules quiz?

I’m hitting a 6-iron on a par 3. Can I use my driver to measure the teeing area?

Here’s a crafty (but legal) way to take relief and get your ball into a much better lie

What’s it called now? A quick refresher in rules terminology

When taking relief, when do I drop the ball and when should I place it?

My opponent is acting like a tool. Do the rules say anything about unsportsmanlike conduct?

Can I clean mud off my ball while playing a hole?

My ball’s in the water, and it’s on the move! What are my options?

My opponent looks like he’s whipper-snippering as he searches for a lost ball. When is that a penalty?

My ball is in bounds but an OB stake is interfering with my shot. Can I move the stake?

Can I be penalised for delaying play if I stop to get a hotdog or a drink?

When am I allowed to substitute a golf ball on the course?

I stopped my swing before hitting the ball. Does that count as a stroke?

I hit myself with my own ball. Embarrassment aside, is that a penalty?

What happens in a match when no one knows how to apply a rule?

My opponent stopped my ball from rolling on purpose. Is that a penalty?

While waiting to play a shot, my opponent is killing time by chipping a ball. Is this allowed?

My ball is in a penalty area, so what are my options for taking a drop?

Can I be penalised if someone else improves my lie?

Can you repair divot holes or pitch marks in your line before hitting a shot?

I just played the wrong ball. What do I do now?

What do I do if my ball just hit another ball on the green?

What do you do when the tee markers aren’t lined up or are missing?

Somebody just picked up my golf ball! Now what?

Crazy things that only happen in matchplay

Can you hit a provisional ball after hitting a shot into a penalty area?

Your club breaks, what are your options?

My opponent took a generous drop after hitting into a penalty area. Can he be DQ’d for that?

Can I use a long putter when measuring my relief area?

Our practice putting green sucks. Can I hit a few putts on the course before my round?

I had an extra club in my bag and I just teed off. Now what?

Can I move a stone if it improves my lie?

Are you smart enough to ace this basic rules quiz?

Do I get relief from aeration holes?

What does ‘known or virtually certain’ really mean?

Do you have to use a putter on the green?

You’re playing a Srixon. Two holes later it’s a Callaway. Is switching golf balls mid-round allowed?

I hit a horrible shot. I’m waaaaaay better off if I don’t find the ball. Can I just declare it lost?

I’m on the green, my opponent is not. Who’s away?

Is sneaking a peek in another player’s bag considered getting advice?

What do I do if my golf ball is stuck in a tree?

I conceded a putt. My opponent putted anyway and missed. Is that a penalty?

What is casual water and how do I play around it?

I thought my ball was lost and put another in play then found my first ball… which ball counts?

What happens if I can’t tell my provisional ball from my original?

What exactly is an embedded ball?

How do I find my ‘nearest point of relief’?

How long can I take to hit a shot?

Does a ball have to be unplayable to declare it unplayable?